## First Ever European Continental Assembly of a Synod within the Catholic Church

Archbishop Eamon Martin, President of the Irish Catholic Bishops' Conference, and 13 other delegates will attend the first ever European Assembly of a Synod within the Catholic Church. There are seven continental assemblies taking place across five continents in a new stage of the synodal process and the European Assembly is taking place in Prague in the Czech Republic from 5 to 12 February 2023.

For all the latest information and to follow any of the livestreams from Prague, please visit the assembly website <a href="mailto:prague.synod2023.org/EN">prague.synod2023.org/EN</a>

Commenting on the European Assembly, Archbishop Eamon Martin said, "This Assembly in Prague will be a further important step in the ongoing Synodal process of strengthening the Church through prayer and dialogue, and by sharing experiences, questions and hopes for the future. Those of us who will be taking part in the European assembly are conscious of our responsibility to bring the fruits of what has been shared in many gatherings across Ireland in the past fifteen months or so. We are still only at the initial stages of our Synodal journey but already important themes are emerging about the need for healing and renewal in the Church and the challenge of finding fresh ways of offering the hope that comes from our friendship with Christ and with the joy of the Gospel." You can find the full press release at catholicbishops.ie

## Irish Delegation for the Prague Assembly

The Irish delegation for the Continental Assembly was named. Please do keep the delegation and all those attending the Assembly in your prayers. That they may listen and discern, and be guided by the Holy Spirit who constantly breathes new life into our world, our Church, our homes, and parishes.

The four delegates travelling from Ireland to attend the Continental Assembly in Prague are:

- Dr Nicola Brady, Chairperson of the Steering Committee
- Father Éamonn Fitzgibbon, Convener of the Task Group for the Irish Synodal Pathway

- Archbishop Eamon Martin, President of the Irish Catholic Bishops' Conference
- Ms Julieann Moran, General Secretary of the Irish Synodal Pathway

## The ten delegates attending the Assembly online are:

- Dr Gary Carville, Executive Secretary for the Council for Justice and Peace, Irish Catholic Bishops' Conference
- Ms Ciara Ferry, Senior Supervisor and Communications Leader of Net Ministries Ireland
- Mrs Janet Forbes, ADYC Co-ordinator Archdiocese of Armagh and Member of the Synodal Pathway Task Group in Ireland
- Ms Ursula Halligan, Joint Co-ordinator of We Are Church Ireland
- Fr Declan Hurley, Administrator of St Mary's Parish, Navan and Co-Chair of the National Steering Committee
- Sr Kathleen McGarvey, OLA, Provincial Leader of the OLA Sisters in Ireland
- Deacon Frank McGuinness, Diocese of Elphin
- Mrs Paula McKeown, Director of Living Church (Down and Connor) and Deputy Chair of the National Steering Committee
- Miss Helena O'Shea, Director of Youth 2000 Ireland
- Mr Stephen Sherry, Seminarian for Clogher Diocese

